About Us

Birth of the AACE-Philippines Chapter


"The AACE was founded in 1991 by a visionary group of leaders to serve as the active voice for clinical endocrinologists."

At the time, clinical endocrinology had no input to the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), nor were clinical endocrinologists represented in the health policy-making bodies of most influential physician societies (i.e., the American Medical Association, American College of Physicians, American Society of Internal Medicine). To address this need, a steering committee of 26 clinical endocrinologiest from across the country accepted responsibility and dedicated a great deal of time and effort to creating AACE. Much care was given to choosing a name in order to reflect the organization's emphasis on providing practicing clinical endocrinologists an  avenue for the study of the scientific, social, political, and economic aspects of endocrinology consistent with maintaining the highest levels of patient care and standards of medical practice.

As the AACE membership grew and a lot of international members have been invited, different chapters internationally were put up. AACE Chapters in India and Nigeria were approved. So the night of the First Augusto D. Litonjua Professional Lecture in Endocrinology on March 11, 2005, Dr. Pauline Camacho, a Board of Director of AACE, who happened to be a recipient of the award, and Dr. Augusto Litonjua agreed to put up a Philippine Chapter. An exploratory meeting was also held in Washington on May 2005.

List of Officers and Board

Current Officers 2019-2020

Theresa Marie Valdez-Faller, MD, FACE
Jubilia Balderas-de Guzman , MD, FACE
Marie Gertrude I. Santos, MD, FACE
Raymond U. Oribio, MD, FACE
Melanie Grace Valdez, MD, FACE

Board of Directors

Demosthenes M. Lumabi, MD, FACE
Edna V. Alcantara, MD, FACE
James K. Young, MD, FACE
Yasmin Laura Marie Zuniga, MD, FACE
Maria Leonora D. Capellan, MD
Rosario R. Bongco, MD
Francis Lee W. Ho, MD, FACE
Glenn Michael M. Ramos, MD

President Emeritus

Augusto D. Litonjua, MD, FACE
(on leave)

Council of past Presidents

Gail V. Magtolis, MD, FACE
Florence Amorado-Santos, MD, FACE
Marsha C. Tolentino, MD, FACE
Gerry H. Tan, MD, FACE
Jimmy B. Aragon, MD, FACE
Joy Arabelle Castillo-Fontanilla, MD, FACE
Reynaldo D. Rosales, MD, FACE
Estrellita Fernando-Lopez, MD, FACE
Robert Michael G. Gan, MD, FACE
Honolina Serro-Gomez, MD, FACE
George B Tan, MD, FACE
Jose Carlos S. Miranda, MD, FACE